Investigator Team

Prof Andrew Vallely

Professorial Research Fellow, Sexual and Reproductive Health, Papua New Guinea Institute of Medical Research, PO Box 60, Goroka, Eastern Highlands Province EHP 441 Papua New Guinea;
Professor, Public Health Interventions Research Group, The Kirby Institute, University of New South Wales, Wallace Wurth Building, Sydney, NSW 2052, Australia
E: avallely@kirby.unsw.edu.au

Prof William Pomat

Director, Papua New Guinea Institute of Medical Research, PO Box 60, Goroka, Eastern Highlands Province EHP 441 Papua New Guinea
E: william.pomat@pngimr.org.pg

Prof Caroline Homer

Co-Program Director, Maternal and Child Health, Burnet Institute, 85 Commercial Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004 Australia
E: caroline.homer@burnet.edu.au

Prof Rebecca Guy

Head, Surveillance Evaluation and Research Program, The Kirby Institute, University of New South Wales, Wallace Wurth Building, Sydney, NSW 2052, Australia
E: Rguy@kirby.unsw.edu.au

Prof John Kaldor

Professor of Epidemiology and NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow,
Head, Public Health Interventions Research Group,
The Kirby Institute, University of New South Wales, Wallace Wurth Building, Sydney, NSW 2052, Australia
E: jkaldor@kirby.unsw.edu.au

A/Prof Stanley Luchters

Head, Women and Children’s Health, Centre for International Health, Burnet Institute,
85 Commercial Road, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 3004 GPO Box 2284, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
E: sluchters@burnet.edu.au

Prof Glen Mola
(Trial Medical Expert)

Professor and Head of Reproductive Health, Obstetrics and Gynaecology,
School of Medicine and Health Sciences, University of Papua New Guinea,
PO Box 5623 Boroko, NCD, Papua New Guinea
E: glenmola@dg.com.pg

Dr Grace Kariwiga
(Trial Medical Expert )

Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, Alotau Provincial Hospital, Milne Bay Provincial Health Authority, Locked Bag 402, Alotau, Milne Bay Province, Papua New Guinea
E: gkariwiga6@gmail.com

Dr Lisa Vallely

Research Fellow, Public Health Interventions Research Group, The Kirby Institute, University of New South Wales, Wallace Wurth Building, Sydney, NSW 2052, Australia
E: lvallely@kirby.unsw.edu.au

A/Prof Virginia Wiseman
(Trial Health Economist)

Health Economist, School of Public Health and Community Medicine, University of New South Wales, UNSW Sydney 2052, Australia;
Health Economist, Faculty of Public Health and Policy, Department of Global Health and Development, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, Keppel Street, London WC1E 7HT
E: v.wiseman@unsw.edu.au / virginia.wiseman@lshtm.ac.uk

Dr Chris Morgan (Trial Health Systems Specialist)

Principal Fellow, Centre for International Health, Burnet Institute, 85 Commercial Road, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 3004 GPO Box 2284, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 3001
E: cmorgan@burnet.edu.au

A/Prof Handan Wand (Trial Statistician)

Biostatistics and Database Program, The Kirby Institute, University of New South Wales, Wallace Wurth Building, Sydney, NSW 2052, Australia
E: Hwand@kirby.unsw.edu

Prof Stephen Rogerson

Department of Medicine (RMH/WH), University of Melbourne, 4th Floor Clinical Science Building, Royal Parade, Parkville, VIC 3050, Australia.
E: sroger@unimelb.edu.au

Prof Sepehr Tabrizi

Department of Microbiology, Division of Laboratory Services, The Royal Women’s Hospital / The Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne;
Professor, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University of Melbourne, Carlton 3053, Australia
Email: Sepehr.Tabrizi@thewomens.org.au

A/Prof David Whiley
(Chair, Laboratory Sub-group)

NHMRC Career Development Fellow, The University of Queensland, UQ Centre for Clinical Research; Research Scientist, Microbiology, Pathology Queensland;
Building 71/918, Royal Brisbane Hospital, Herston Qld 4029, Australia
Email: d.whiley@uq.edu.au

Prof Suzanne Garland

Director of Microbiological Research and Head of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases Royal Women’s Hospital;
Professor, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology University of Melbourne;
Senior Consultant, Microbiology, Royal Children’s Hospital, Level 1, Building 404, Bio 21 Institute, 30 Flemington Road, Parkville, Vic. 3052 Australia
Email: Suzanne.Garland@thewomens.org.au

Prof Nicola Low

Director of Research, Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine, University of Bern, Mittelstrasse 43, 3012 Bern, Switzerland.
E: nicola.low@ispm.unibe.ch

Prof Rosanna Peeling

Professor and Chair of Diagnostics Research, Department of Clinical Research, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, Keppel Street London WC1E 7HT, UK
E: rosanna.peeling@lshtm.ac.uk

Prof Peter Siba

Former Director, Papua New Guinea Institute of Medical Research, PO Box 60, Goroka, EHP 441, Papua New Guinea
E: peter.siba@pngimorg.pg

Dr Michaela Riddell

WANTAIM Clinical Trial Coordinator, Papua New Guinea Institute of Medical Research, PO Box 378, Madang, Papua New Guinea
E: mriddell@kirby.unsw.edu.au

Dr Moses Laman

Deputy Director, Papua New Guinea Institute of Medical Research, PO Box 378, Madang, Papua New Guinea
E: drmlaman@yahoo.com

Dr John Bolnga

Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Modilon General Hospital, PO Box 1200, Madang, Papua New Guinea.
E: johnbolnga@gmail.com

Associate Professor Leanne Robinson

Group Leader, Vector-Borne Diseases & Tropical Public Health
Burnet Institute, 85 Commercial Rd, Melbourne, VIC 3004, Australia
Adjunct Principal Research Fellow, PNG Institute of Medical Research, PO Box 378, Madang, Papua New Guinea
Laboratory Head, Population Health and Immunity Division
Walter and Eliza Hall Institute, 1G Royal Parade, Parkville, VIC 3052, Australia
Adjunct Associate Professor
School of Public Health and Preventative Medicine, Monash University, 553 St Kilda Road, Melbourne VIC 3004, Australia
E: leanne.robinson@burnet.edu.au

Dr Jacob Morewaya

Head, Public Health Division, Milne Bay Provincial Health Authority, Locked Bag 402, Alotau, Milne Bay Province, Papua New Guinea
E: jacob.morewaya@milnebay.gov.pg

Dr Steve Badman

Public Health Interventions Research Group, The Kirby Institute, University of New South Wales, Wallace Wurth Building, Sydney, NSW 2052, Australia
E: sbadman@kirby.unsw.edu.au

Dr Neha Batura

Lecturer in Health Economics and Deputy Director: Centre for Global Health Economics, Institute for Global Health, Faculty of Population and Health Sciences, University College London, 30 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1EH
E: n.batura@ucl.ac.uk

Associate Professor Angela Kelly-Hanku

Head, Sexual and Reproductive Health Unit, Papua New Guinea Institute of Medical Research, PO Box 60, Goroka, EHP 441, Papua New Guinea;
Associate Professor, Public Health Interventions Research Group, The Kirby Institute, University of New South Wales, Wallace Wurth Building, Sydney, NSW 2052, Australia
E: a.kelly@unsw.edu.au

Pamela Toliman

Senior Scientific Research Officer, Sexual & Reproductive Health Unit, Papua New Guinea Institute of Medical Research, PO Box 60, Goroka, EHP 441, Papua New Guinea
E: ptoliman@kirby.unsw.edu.au

Wilfred Peter

Acting Provincial Health Authority Manager, Modilon General Hospital, PO Box 1200, Madang, Papua New Guinea
E: wilfredpeterisalive@gmail.com

Dr Elizabeth Peach

Research Program Manager The Burnet Institute, Kokopo, East New Britain Province, Papua New Guinea
E: liz.peach@burnet.edu.au

Dr Delly Babona

Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, St Mary’s Vunapope Rural Hospital, PO Box 58, Kokopo, ENBP 613, Papua New Guinea
E: dbabona@gmail.com

WANTAIM study team – Madang

Given Names

Surname

Designation

Alice

Mengi

Deputy Trial Coordinator

Joseph

Yamuna

Operations Manager

Saki

Mathilda

Data Manager

Kelly

Masil

Data Entry Clerk

Somu

Nosi

Qualitative Researcher

Carol Augusto

Wakias

Research Midwife/Community Liaison Officer

Theresa

Tivud

Community Liaison Officer

Patrick

Konnie

Community Liaison Officer / Driver

Beromina

Jano

Community Health Worker

Francesca

Buran

Community Health Worker

Cegatha

Tawai

Community Health Worker

Georgina

Sengum

Community Health Worker

Joyce

Soalili

Community Health Worker

Milda

Lasu

Community Health Worker

Michelyn

John

Community Health Worker

Cornelia

Duba

Laboratory Assistant

Eunice

Jally

Research Nurse/Midwife

Pamela

Brea

Research Nurse/Midwife

George

Kuais

Research Nurse/Midwife

Maggie

Aihi

Research Nurse/Midwife

Talitha

Maine

Research Nurse/Midwife

Dupain

Singarok

Research Nurse/Midwife

Jonathon

Warel

Research Nurse/Midwife

Sharon

Warel

Research Nurse/USS Technician

Aileen

Jeffery

Research Nurse/USS Technician

Janet

Kulimboo

Research Nurse/USS Technician

Paul

Romanus

Driver

 

WANTAIM study team – Kokopo

Given Names

Surname

Designation

Lucy

Au

Site Coordinator

Tony

Rave

Community Liaison Officer (CLO)

Rebecca

Anian

Junior CLO

Romalus

Tavi

Junior CLO

Charity

Stanley

Junior CLO

Benedicta

Mission

Junior CLO

John

Kamit

Junior CLO

Diana

Malip

Community Health Worker

Laniet

Eddie

Community Health Worker

Johnslyn

David

Community Health Worker

Raphael

Robinson

Community Health Worker

Sharon

Essie

Community Health Worker

Konsetta

Malava

Research Nurse/Midwife

Leah

Molok

Research Nurse/Midwife

Ellen

Kavang

Research Nurse/Midwife

Anna

Davis

Research Nurse/Midwife

Vicky Bayagau

Wong

Research Nurse/Midwife

Misilie

Padik

Research Nurse/Midwife

Dorothy

Sebulon

Research Nurse/Midwife

Biru

Subey

Research Nurse/Midwife

Daniel

Hosea

Research Nurse/Midwife

Augustina

Aiarak

Research Nurse/Midwife

Irene

Daniels

Research Nurse/USS Technician

Irene

Gani

Research Nurse/USS Technician

Crystal

Keiwaga

Research Nurse/USS Technician

James 

Makap

Driver

Kosmos

Francis

Driver

Mosley

Viringa 

Driver

 

The WANTAIM Trial is funded by research grants from the United Kingdom, Australia and Switzerland